Testing, testing…and food for thought

“The things we hate about ourselves aren’t more real than things we like about ourselves.” -Ellen Goodman

This is another speedy quick post, predominantly to see if my RSS feed magic has worked correctly, and if it has I have Zack to thank! Even if it doesn’t, thanks Zack! 😉

This little picture made me laugh when I first saw it, so of course I promptly stole it for all of you to enjoy. Birds with french fries do appear quite happy.

But what if you’re having a craptastic day? How are you supposed to be like that little guy happily ingesting trans fats and whatnot?

As I mentioned earlier, you won’t (and honestly can’t) always be happy. But what you can be is intermittently happy, and sometimes all those intermittent smidges (or blobs or whatever units you like to measure your happiness in) add up to a pretty good afternoon, day, week, etc. Even though things are going to happen that stress you out, depress you, worry you, anger you, good things are going to happen too.

Your job is to see the good stuff, to notice it, and take advantage of it. Like that bird with the fry.

The tricky bit has to do with all our judgments – we’re SO good at judging things, people, events, ourselves. The quote I picked for today, though, made me think.

What if our judgments of what’s “wrong” with ourselves or other people or whatever just happened that we may be judging….are wrong? Or at least not completely right? What if the things we think are so awful are really products of our viewpoint, and not so much the external reality (whatever that is). Oops, I’m going a bit metaphysical.

What I’m saying, really, is that the way we evaluate things, good, bad, or neutral – these are really just stories we tell ourselves. One isn’t necessarily more true than another, depending on how you look at it. I’ll have more to say about this when we get to  The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz.   And when we talk more about ACT.  For now,  maybe we can all work on questioning those automatic judgments a little more, especially when they start to lead us down a mental trail of crankiness or gloom or anger.

Now I’m going to try really hard not to eat fries with lunch!

4 responses

  1. This really helped me re-judge or reevaluate a colleague today. Thanks for the new lens! Go Zack go. 🙂 And craptastic is a wonderful new word!!!

    • My wonderful “work wife” Jamie came up with “craptastic” – can’t take credit. I’m glad you got something useful from the quickie post – and thanks again Zack!!

Leave a Reply

