Feeling Grand, or Insignificant?

I got the blues thinking of the future, so I left off and made some marmalade. It’s amazing how it cheers one up to shred oranges and scrub the floor. –D.H. Lawrence

Time has been short lately for blogging, but just for fun, here’s a link I think you’ll like (how’s that for alliteration?)

The Scale of the Universe 2

Some guys a LOT smarter than I am (namely Cary and Michael Huang) created this little adventure. Starting at human-size, you can zoom in to all sorts of magically tiny bits, or zoom out to scales unimaginable. My personal favorites are the bacteriophage and the disclaimer “lengths shorter than this are not confirmed.”  Come ON! Who figures this stuff out? I can barely figure out the tip at a restaurant.

So on the one hand, you can feel quite grand and huge, knowing all these tiny amazing things are inside you. And then you can feel ridiculously insignifcant, seeing how you stack up to the length of a light-year and such.

This is the stuff that keeps me up at night, sometimes. Other times, it’s to-do lists. I’m not sure which is worse.  I guess when I’m feeling like things are too big, I focus on the little things, like making sure the laundry is done, and scrubbing the kitchen countertops. I’m with D.H. Lawrence on this one.

Anyhow, enjoy your day and ponder what all is inside and outside of you…

Leave a Reply

