Quarky Dinnertime Convos

“When you have an intense contact of love with nature or another human being, like a spark, then you understand that there is no time and that everything is eternal.” –Paulo Coelho

Another quick and dirty post, people. I actually started this LAST week, and felt strange about it sitting around, unfinished and bereft.

So, I’ll recap the dinnertime conversation between myself, Tween Spirit (now 11 years old, mind you!) and The Boy (who is now the ripe old age of 8).  He has lots of other nicknames, but we’ll just call him The Boy for now. Tween is perusing Scientific American while she eats, as she is wont to do. This poses a bit of an issue when she asks me questions about things in the issues I haven’t read yet, which are most of them. But no matter. Tonight, she says something I actually DID know:  “Mom did you know there is something called a quark? And there are lots of kinds of quarks?”

Why, yes. Yes I did know that. I even knew that they have funny names like top, bottom, up, down, strange, etc. And then I reminded them about the whole Higgs Boson excitement of a few months past and why the scientists were all so fired up about finding it, etc.

“Quarks are cool,” says The Boy.

“So what’s inside the Higgs boson, though?” Tween queries.

“Well, I think the idea is that it it supposed to be the smallest indivisible part of matter. Like it’s Higgs boson all the way through.”

“Hmm. I don’t know about that.” She munches. She scrunches up her eyebrows a little at me.

“I don’t know about that either,” I reply (this is a very common statement for me), “but i think it’s the idea.”

“Hmm.”

“Hmm.”

And then I remind them both of the super cool website I linked in this blog earlier with the scale of the universe and she says, “And what’s all this about the “size of the known universe”. What is outside of that?”

“Hmm,” says I. (Wait for it…wait for it…) “I don’t know.”

“I don’t know either,” says The Boy. “But did you see they put Minecraft world in the website? But yeah, what’s bigger than the universe?”

And that is why I didn’t sleep that night. Thanks, Science!

One response

  1. Tween knows more about bosons than she thinks! She was the one who told me about Bose Einstein Condensate that is made up of entirely of bosons existing at absolute zero!
    I can understand why you couldn’t sleep, my child… 🙂

Leave a Reply

